BioHealth Department

The University of Montpelier BioHealth Department was created in December 2017 as part of the university’s MUSE Foundation, with the goal of becoming a research competence center for the target university by the end of 2021. The department’s objective is to build a space to create synergy among research organizations and scientific bodies to pursue common action with MUSE consortium members.


Leadership and communication

  • Ensure exposure and promote BioHealth
  • Set up wide-ranging scientific activities involving thematic axes and fields
  • Offer cross-functional thematic actions
  • Establish effective communication tools

Strategy and scientific prospects

  • Serve as a point-of-contact for the entire BioHealth
  • Contributor community regarding the emergence of major future structural programs
  • Coordinate calls-for-tender

Education-research interface

  • Support ties between education and research
  • Encourage interdisciplinary training in coordination with other competence centers
  • Work closely with collegiums, doctoral schools, the doctoral college, scientific departments, university faculties, institutes, and schools

Management of jobs and skills

  • Lead joint reflection on a concerted approach to employment, skills, and human resource planning in collaboration with institutions and organization

Scientific scope

The BioHealth Department comprises 27 laboratories and research institutes, 2 Excellence Laboratories and 2 LabMUSE programs, 5 Hospital-University Federations, and 3 Service laboratories.

Research is organized into seven main thematic axes: Quantitative Biology, Oncology, Genetics-Epigenetics, Infectiology-Immunology, Experimental and Regenerative Medicine, Neurosciences, and Technologies for Health-Bioengineering

BioHealth Department management team

The mission of the BioHealth Department’s management team is to discuss key issues and share strategic information concerning the project and to track the progression of actions.

Director : Pierre-Emmanuel Milhiet
DSBS Director : Jean-Yves Le Guennec
Operational director : Brigitte Couette

Administrative and Communication Assistant : Laure Bourbon
DSBS Human Resources Assistant : Magali Fayol-Chastaing


BioHealth Department Council

The Council’s mission is to issue proposals and opinions regarding the competence center’s actions and direction.

Department Council members are the competence center’s directors, representatives of the competence center’s research laboratories, Service Unit Directors and Representatives of Clinical Research Platforms, cross-functional action managers, academic and hospital managers for the MUSE foundation’s 7 research axes, and the Director of the CBS2 Doctoral School. Permanent guests on the council include Directors of Units that are not members, structural project Directors/Managers, Directors of Doctoral Schools other than CBS2, and the former competence center director.

Strategic Orientation Council (COS)

The Strategic Orientation Council’s mission is to approve strategic direction and the action plan proposed by the Department Council.

COS members are the institutional representatives of the university’s governing bodies, as well as scientific managers for higher education establishments, national research organizations, and related health establishments. Permanent guests include French Government and Regional representatives, Universities and Schools, MUSE I-SITE, hospital structures, other partners, and Directors of Research Clusters.