Research departments

Research departments are intended to ensure actions for each of the consortium’s wide scientific sectors over 6 main areas: leadership, communication, strategy and scientific foresight; partnership collaborations and research structuring; international reach; contribution to the Education-Research interface; interface with university governance; participation in employment policy and career management. The scope of action in these areas may vary according to disparities between the relevant communities.

Each research department brings together laboratories from MUSE partners; these laboratories are linked to the department on a primary or on a secondary basis. Every partners’ laboratory is comprised in at least one research department.
Research departments are consulted, especially during the evaluation of research actions developed within the consortium.

They include a mechanism (which may spring from a subgroup of participants in the research department) that allows all scientific communities to formulate opinions on UM-specific human resources issues. This latter role remains the prerogative of UM Scientific Departments until December 2021.

Research departments do not challenge the existence, scope or prerogatives of research units.

To date, Research departments have been created as structures of the MUSE Foundation and their directors have been appointed by the Foundation’s Board.


Collegiums are intended to facilitate synergy between educational entities in major sectors of academic training (e. g. pooling of technical platforms; dissemination of innovative educational initiatives; joint international actions; and more) and to strengthen the clarity and legibility of the entire educational offering of the University of Montpellier and its partners.

Collegiums do not question the existence, scope or prerogatives of Research and Education Units (UFRs), institutes, schools or component establishments.

Structuring work has begun and Collegiums will first be created as part of the MUSE Foundation.

Graduate division

The Graduate Division is comprised of representatives from Collegiums (8), Research Departments (5) and Doctoral Schools (6) and is co-facilitated by the University’s Vice president for Research and Vice president for Education and student life.

It is particularly intended to ensure the good quality of the link between M and D educational levels, to promote good practices at both levels for all disciplinary fields (in anticipation of a possible “Ecole Universitaire de Recherche” scheme of the Investment for the Future Program). It shall take the form of a commission.