The Target University will keep the name of «Université de Montpellier» and will be a scientific, cultural and professional public institution (EPSCP) of experimental nature, considering the integration of a component establishment (ENSCM) and the evolution of its governing bodies, in line with the possibilities presented by Ordinance No. 2018-1131 of 12 December 2018.

Article 10 of the Ordinance states that “The Administration Board (…) shall comprise at least 40 % elected representatives of staff and users, as well as outside personalities”.

It should be reminded that the MUSE Foundation was created on a temporary basis, during the ISITE probationary period, in order to monitor funding and carry out the actions implemented by ISITE. Once I-SITE is perpetuated, maintaining the existence of the Foundation will no longer be necessary as it would complicate the establishment’s organization.

At the same time, in order to ensure proper integration of the main institutions that currently participate in the MUSE Foundation Management Board, it is necessary to provide the target university with an Administration Board that is comprised of representatives of the main entities participating in ISITE as qualified personalities, alongside a significant number of elected representatives.

The Target University Administration Board will be comprised of 36 members:

  • 24 elected representatives: 14 Research-Professors (E-C or equivalent:7 A – 7 B), 5 Users, 5 Administrative and Technical staff (IATS)
  • 12 qualified personalities: 6 Representatives of key partners: CNRS / Cirad / Inra / IRD / CHU-M / Inserm, 2 Representatives of local authorities: Region / Montpellier Metropole, 4 Representatives of companies:  Horiba / BPS / BRL / InVivo

The Administration Board will also be comprised of permanent guest members in an advisory capacity, such as ENSCM Director and a representative of the future EAF (or NSA in English).

Nota 1 – The institution will have an Academic Council, whose composition, prerogatives and operating mode will be identical to those currently in force at the University of Montpellier, with the addition of ENSCM Director, or his representative, in an advisory capacity.

The Administration Board will also be comprised of permanent guest members in an advisory capacity, such as ENSCM Director and a representative of the future EAF (or NSA in English).

With its partners, the target University will set up a Committee for Strategic & Structuring Investments (CSSI or ComISS in French) by agreement to define and coordinate – within the framework of a shared strategy and the institutional perimeter constituted by all the I-SITE stakeholders – the common objectives relative to the deployment of Investment for the Future Programs (PIA) resulting measures, collective choices in terms of scientific and property investment policy and response to calls for structural projects of all kinds (e. g. CPER, large-scale European projects, etc.). The CSSI will also be consulted regarding recruitment policy at the Montpellier site from a concerted research and education development perspective. It will ensure successful implementation of the shared strategy and actions defined jointly by the University and its partners. It will be comprised of a representative of the main institutions that contribute to the MUSE project. At operational and administrative level, this Committee will be supported by a Strategic & Structuring Investments Mission (MISS), placed under the authority of the University president, that will support and accompany project leaders in carrying out their projects.

In its by-laws, the institution will include intermediate structures, called Research Departments (5) and Collegiums (8), designed as mechanisms to create synergy between research or educational structures, and develop joint actions with partner institutions. It will also include Research and Education Units (UFRs), institutes and schools (including ENSCM under ” établissement-composante” status), host teams or joint research units with partners.

As of now, an association agreement with ENSCM is being implemented in order to pave the way for this integration as a component establishment at the end of 2021.

Nota 2 – During the transition period and until the target university is established at the end of 2021, relations between the University of Montpellier and ENSCM will be governed by an association agreement that prefigures the integration of ENSCM as a component establishment. The agreement specifies the prerogatives that will be transferred by ENSCM to the University, as well as the joint actions and associated milestones carried out by the two institutions. This agreement particularly seeks to meet the strict requirements set by the IDEX-ISITE international jury related to integration into the University (i.e., signing of diplomas or absence of competition in rankings).

Nota 3 – The institution will have a strong partnership with Montpellier SupAgro via an association agreement. The decision to continue and/or strengthen the association within the framework of the EAF (NSA in English) will be made by the Administration Board of the new national agronomy establishment, once it is set up.

The institution will also acknowledge research units for which it does not act as “supervising entity”, but with which it maintains privileged ties; these units will recognize the university as a “strategic partner”. This recognition will lead to the following mutual commitments:

  • Signing of publications according to the I-SITE MUSE publications charter;
  • Possibility for high-level scientists of partner institutions who are deeply involved in teaching at University of Montpellier to hold the title of “Adjunct Professor UM”;
  • Possibility for these high-level scientists to participate in the University’s steering and governing bodies;
  • Establishment of reciprocal visibility, the university being able to affirm that these units are “under UM strategic partnership”, and reciprocally, the units being able to claim they are part of the university.
  • Whenever scientifically relevant, doctoral students of the site that are supervised by scientists from these institutions are registered with UM and enrolled in one of UM Doctoral Schools.

In its by-laws, it will provide for the creation of a commission: the Graduate Division (see Section 3 for more details), whose purpose will be to ensure the link between research and education at institutional level.

In its by-laws, it will provide for the creation of a Council of Directors which will bring together: the heads of Research and Education Units (UFRs), institutes, schools and component establishments, as well as intermediate structures; vice-presidents and deputy vice-presidents; the administrative general director and deputy administrative general directors; and the president of the University. It will be convened at the initiative of the target University president and will be consulted for the preparation and implementation of the Administration Board’s and Academic Council’s decisions.

In its by-laws, the target university will provide for an International Advisory Board (IAB), comprised of scientific executives from its key international partners and business representatives; the IAB will analyze the target university’s transformation approach and provide advice. Outside of a legal framework, this IAB has already been implemented in the MUSE Foundation and held its first meeting in March 2019, under the chairmanship of Louise Fresco, Wageningen University & Research president.